Welcome to my blog

Hello, and welcome to Powered by Veggies.

On my blog, I will be promoting the benefits of living a plant-based life. I will be sharing recipes, products, and advice related to veganism. On occasion I will share my thoughts and experiences with you as I consciously try to address important issues and topics within the plant-based community.

I wanted to create a blog dedicated to living a plant-based lifestyle, because I have so much passion for this topic that I wanted to create a space for myself that would allow me to interact with others that share the same interest. My enthusiasm for this topic is not just devoted to the food aspect, but to the welfare of animals as well. I believe that all sentient beings deserve to be treated with respect and for that reason animals should not be exploited for our taste buds, pleasure or profit.

In June of 2016, I decided to go vegetarian. After several months of contemplating the lifestyle shift. Once I had learned how animals are treated in slaughter houses, and the negative effects that consuming meat has on our bodies, I decided that going vegetarian was something I needed to do. Over these past six months, I have slowly eliminated all animal products from my diet that includes eggs and dairy. Along with those efforts I have also been making a conscious effort not to buy products that are made from animals anymore. Being new to this community, I figured a blog would help me fully transition into this lifestyle by being able to connect and learn from others.

With this blog, I hope to connect with readers that similarly follow a plant-based lifestyle. I want this blog to serve as a place where I can come together with other plant-based bloggers to share our passion and ideas. I also, want this blog to serve not only as inspiration but informative for people who are considering making the transition to a plant-based lifestyle.

13 thoughts on “Welcome to my blog”

  1. Hey girl! I don’t eat meat or dairy either. I love love love minimalist baker. If you haven’t heard of her already I highly recommend you check her out. She has a cookbook available in hard copy and an online presence as well. She is bomb fire.

    Like

  2. I truly respect your decision to become a vegetarian and fight for animal rights. With so many people becoming vegetarians and vegans, I’m sure your blog will help you connect with those people and help you learn more about the lifestyle. I wish you the best of luck and hope you enjoy creating your blog.

    Like

  3. Writing as a way of drawing a community of others who share a similar lifestyle to yours, as opposed to writing in order to try and convince others to change their lifestyles as many of these blogs do, will definitely allow you to effectively draw a larger audience! Especially considering how vegetarianism/veganism sometimes becomes the butt of jokes, it’ll be nice to just see a community sharing their thoughts and ideas, and love for veggies.

    Like

  4. Im so excited to read more for this blog! I myself have been trying to slowly move toward a more natural diet. I would love you here your opinions on schools and restaurants vegetarian and vegan options or the lack there of.

    Like

  5. Hello Theresa!

    It’s so great that you’ve made an amazing transition! I was a semi-vegetarian before switching to veganism. Since then I’ve been so glad I’ve made the switch! You’re going to do amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

