Whole Wheat Waffles

Today, I decided to have breakfast for lunch and made myself some whole wheat waffles. Figuring that everyone loves quick easy breakfast ideas I wanted to go ahead and share this five step recipe. For anyone that is curious I got this recipe from my “Vegan CookBook for Beginners” if you just became vegan I suggest you check out this cookbook as it has informative nutrition information at the start of the book and obviously has lots of yummy recipes inside.

img_4562.jpg

What this recipe calls for: (this recipe serves 4)

  • 1 cup of Whole Wheat Flour
  • 3 tablespoons of cane sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of Baking Powder
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 cup of Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 2 tablespoons of Canola Oil (I used vegetable oil because I don’t have canola oil)
  1. You want to start by preheating your waffle iron to high.
  2. In mixing bowl, whisk together, the flour, cane sugar, baking powder, and salt.img_4563
  3. Whisk in the almond milk and canola oil (or vegetable oil), stirring until combined.
  4.  Pour about 1/4 cup of batter into the waffle iron and cook until crisp and lightly brown.

Repeat with remaining batter and serve the waffles hot.

img_4568.jpg

Waffles that don’t require eggs this was new for me as I have never made waffles or pancakes yet since I’ve gone plant-based. Anyways, I hope you all enjoy your waffles if you happen to try this recipe out!

When I made this recipe for lunch today, it made me think about how as kid I would cringe at anything whole wheat. When I was younger I figured that anything whole wheat was gross or bland because my friends mom made her eat whole wheat bread and she didn’t like it. For so long I refused to eat whole wheat bread or whole wheat anything for that matter. It was not until middle school that I started to be open to the idea. Thinking back on all of this I laugh because now I consciously make the effort to eat only whole wheat flour, pasta and bread because they are better for you. White pasta, white bread, white flour, white rice and white sugar are a last resort options for me now because they are not good for you. Food manufacturers take the natural grains, like brown rice and whole wheat, and strip away all their nutrients, vitamins, and minerals to achieve the white color and a texture change. For some reason food manufacturers decided that people wouldn’t buy their products unless they were white and soft. But what if food manufacturers never thought this and there was not such thing as white bread, white flour, white rice, white sugar or white pasta, how much different would things be?

Leave a Reply

