Chickpea & Quinoa Patties

IMG_4743Okay, I’ll be honest I am not the best cook. I may or may not have set the smoke alarm off at my house last night making these chickpea and quinoa patties. But none the less they were still filling and I wanted to share them with you.

I love quinoa and chick peas, so when I saw a recipe for chick pea and quinoa patties on Tess Begg’s YouTube video I quickly added it to my list of recipes to try. Last night I finally got around to making them, and let me tell you they may have been lacking some flavor due to my own wrong doing but man where they filling. If you’re looking for a meal that requires only a little bit of prep work and like chickpeas and quinoa this I for you!

For this recipe, I didn’t take pictures as I went, because I wasn’t initially anticipating posting about this. However, if you want to see what things should be looking like skip to 3:00 in Tess’ video.

Just a quick point chickpeas and garbanzo beans are the same thing. I was confused about this when I first vegan so I want to point this out if you’re confused too.

What you need for this recipe:

  • 3 ½ cups or 425 grams of chick peas (I just used a whole can)
  • ½ cup of cooked quinoa
  • 1 red onion diced (I didn’t add this because I didn’t have any)
  • 1 cup of spinach leaves -finely chopped (I didn’t add this because I didn’t have any)
  • Cracked pepper
  • 2 tsp of chili flakes or paprika

You will want to get your quinoa cooking first because it takes a few minutes to cook. The recipe calls for ½ cup of cooked quinoa but I just made 1 cup and put the other ½ cup to the side to eat later. You will want to cook your quinoa for however long your container says. Mine cooked for 19 minutes.

While your quinoa is cooking, you’ll want to drain the chickpeas and then put them in a bowl. After that you want to mash them up.

Once your quinoa is done cooking you want to add the ½ cup of quinoa to the bowl of mashed chickpeas and mix them together. Add some pepper taste too and the 2 tsp of chili powder. And then mix all that together.

After all that is mixed, you want to throw a handful of spinach in the quinoa chickpea mixture and combine that all together.

Now that everything is all mixed together, take the mixture and form patties.

It’s cooking time! Take your patties and cook them in a pan on high heat until they are lightly browned. To give a time estimate this can take about 2-3 minutes.

I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

