Being Vegan as a College Student

Vegan-Meal-Prep
Photo Credit: Peta.org

As we know I am new at this, but nonetheless I wanted to share some things that I do as a college student that help me out. Whether you are trying to eat healthier or are trying to go vegan these things I may help you as well.

1. Going grocery shopping at the beginning of the week.

I like to do this at the beginning of the week or on weekends because I know once the week starts I’ll have a hard time finding time to go to the grocery store. Also, by going at the beginning of the week I know that I’ll be set for the week and won’t have to worry about stopping at the store.

2. Buying in Bulk

Going along with the first tip, when I do my shopping I buy items in bulk. Obviously, this is not feasible for every item I buy because I don’t want things to spoil and go to waste. So, when I buy fresh items I buy the amount that I know I will eat and for others that I know I may not use as quickly I try to buy them frozen. Some items I like to buy in bulk because I know I go through them quickly, is quinoa, oatmeal and beans. Fruit and vegetables that I buy in smaller bulk portions usually are apples, strawberries and bananas.

3. Meal Prepping

Meal prepping. I do this because it helps me make sure that I am getting the right nutrients. If I don’t prep meals for the week over the weekend, I will come home from school and find myself going for the easiest meals, which are either soy burgers or cereal with soy milk. Prepping my meals ahead of time, allows me to spend less time in the kitchen and more time doing homework or doings things that I enjoy. Starting off prepping one meal a day like dinner and then slowly incorporating lunch has helped me stick to prepping easier. When I first started, I prepped dinner and lunch meals and got overwhelmed quickly, so I started only prepping dinner and just started prepping dinner and the transition has been much easier.

I hope these tips help you out!

2 thoughts on “Being Vegan as a College Student”

Leave a Reply

