The Changes I’ve Experienced Since Going Vegan

eat-right-image-1
preventivenutrition.com

The changes I have noticed in my body since going vegan. Ahh, where do I begin?

As I have mentioned before on my blog, I didn’t just wake up one morning and decide to go vegan, I went vegetarian first. After trying to avoid eating meat for a couple of months, I decided to go officially vegetarian at the end of June in 2016. So, at that time I was still eating ice cream, eggs and cheese. But, within those first couple of months being vegetarian I began to drop these foods out of my diet and would only eat them when there were no other options (that I was aware of at the time) like at restaurants and sorts. When I avoided these foods and then ate them after several weeks of not having them I noticed changes in my bodies digestion. I would get horrible stomach aches. So, I finally put two and two together and realized that the one night stands with dairy products needed to end. And let me tell you my body has thanked me.

My skin, since going vegan my skin has been so much clearer, I barely get acne anymore. When I was still eating dairy and chocolate as a vegetarian I would get acne on my chin and on my forehead between my eyebrows. As I say this I hope I don’t jinx myself, but I don’t get acne on my forehead anymore but will get it on my chin from time to time.

Digestion, oh this has probably been the most noticeable change since I went vegan. I had noticed improvements in my digestion when I went vegetarian, but I noticed my digestion improved even more when I went vegan. This may be tmi for some people, but before when I used to eat meat I wouldn’t poop every day. I was almost always in a constant state of bloat, when I ate big meals. But now since I eat more fruit, vegetables and other foods that are high in fiber than I used to, I poop every day with ease and barely ever get stomach aches.

More energy. Yes, more energy. By eating more nutrient rich foods than I used to before I went vegetarian or vegan, my energy levels seem to be much higher than they used to be. Also, by eating food that my body can properly digest I don’t feel sluggish after I eat anymore. When I used to eat meat and dairy, I would always feel blehh after I ate. My stomach would feel uncomfortably full to the point where I wouldn’t want to do anything after eating but sit. But now since I focus on putting foods in my body that I know will make me feel good, I never feel like this after eating. My body doesn’t use as much energy to digest my food anymore so I feel more energetic.

Weight-loss. So, losing weight was not an intention of mine for going vegan but it did happen, I am already petite in height and weight, so I wasn’t aiming on losing weight, but it happened naturally from just eating better. When I ate meat, I wasn’t very conscious of the decisions I would make with food, I would eat junk food and canned food and wouldn’t really care. Now I cringe at the thought of eating canned food unless it’s canned beans. I’ll be honest I don’t exercise that much so the roughly six pounds that I lost was just from eating healthier.

These are just the changes that happen to me, that doesn’t mean they will essentially happen to you too. You may notice other changes in your body that I haven’t, every person is different and that’s okay. One change that I hope all vegans experience is being happier, in the sense that we are helping the planet and saving animals.

3 thoughts on “The Changes I’ve Experienced Since Going Vegan”

    1. It makes me glad to hear that you have been considering going vegan! I suggest taking it slow if you do end up trying out the vegan lifestyle. Jumping into it all can be a bit intimidating, so taking it slow to start might help you adjust. I am happy you enjoyed the post! (:

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

