I am Back! With Ice Cream Suggestions!

What’s up everyone? I am back! After weeks of resettling and beginning the post-undergrad life I decided it was about time to come back! What I am bringing to you with this post are some great non-dairy ice cream options I’ve stumbled upon recently. So, if you love ice cream then stick around and keep on reading. 

As you may remember I have a love for ice cream like no other. So, with the weather getting warmer my hunt for some good vegan options has been a priority of mine and let me tell you the options I have come across will not disappoint. If you love cookie dough ice cream or cookies & cream ice cream like I do then you may want to check these bad boys out.

The first ice cream flavor that caught my eye was actually a coconut milk mint chip ice cream that I came across a few months ago.

Screenshot (31)
image credit to sodeliciousdairyfree.com

This ice cream is by the brand So Delicious®. I wasn’t the biggest fan of this ice cream as the coconut flavor from the coconut milk seemed to overpower the mint taste that it was supposed to have. With my taste buds feeling less than satisfied with that ice cream flavor I decided to try another ice cream flavor by this brand, this time I tried coconut milk cookie dough ice cream.IMG_5080For the most part I liked the ice cream. However, with the first couple of bites the coconut flavor can be a little overpowering, but after those first few bites the coconut after taste goes away. If you like coconut and cookies this ice cream is for you. The cookie dough in the ice cream reminds me of a sugar cookie as it tastes a little different from normal cookie dough as it is gluten free. Nonetheless I think this ice cream flavor is a great option.

With summer practically upon me, I could not stop thinking about how much I missed cookies and cream ice cream. I’ve always kept my eyes open for this flavor but have never found it to be an option for the non-dairy ice cream brands that are available in the grocery stores where I live.

With my ice cream spirits low I went into Big Y (the grocery store in my area) and went to the ice cream section. I saw a cashew milk option above the usual coconut milk flavors that I had tried by the So Delicious® brand. I was skeptical but figured maybe it wouldn’t have an overbearing taste like the coconut milk ones do. I grabbed the chocolate cookies n’ cream flavor, and to my surprise it was really chocolatey.

Screenshot (32)
image credit to sodeliciousdairyfree.com

It didn’t completely fulfill my cookies and cream needs but it did satisfy my chocolate needs. The chocolate ice cream really tasted like a chocolate fudge brownie to me. I had my little sister who isn’t vegan try the ice cream and she really liked it too. What I like about this So Delicious® brand is that they made the conscious effort to make their products gluten free so my little sister can try them out too (she has celiac disease). 

A few days later I returned to Big Y as I figured my mom would have ice cream at the cook out she was planning for the Memorial Day weekend and I didn’t want to be left out. As I skimmed the other flavors available with Cashew milk I didn’t see any that peaked my interest. I decided to look above the section of So Delicious® ice cream and saw at the top of the freezer a random row of Breyers® ice cream. I did a double take as I thought this ice cream was put in the wrong place, but it wasn’t. As my eyes read across the words “non-dairy” I instantly felt a smile appear on my face. That smile grew even bigger when I read what the flavor of the ice cream was Oreo® Cookies & Cream.IMG_5081 I would finally get the chance to try my favorite ice cream flavor as a non-dairy option. Trying not to get my hopes up, I kept in mind that this ice cream very well could taste nothing like the cookies and cream ice cream that I remembered. I am thankful that I didn’t allow myself to hype the ice cream up in my head as it made that first spoonful all the more wonderful. When that first spoonful entered my mouth and fell upon my taste buds I was in awhh as it literally tasted just like I remembered cookies and cream ice cream. This ice cream is rich and creamy, and doesn’t lack any flavor even though it doesn’t contain dairy. If you love cookies and cream ice cream as much as I do I suggest you try this out.

—Sorry that this post is a little longer than my usual posts I just missed writing and had a lot to say. I hope you enjoyed this post and decide to check some of these ice cream flavors out! As a warning to those who have never bought dairy free ice cream: If you decide to check these ice cream flavors out you may notice that they are a little expensive compared to regular ice cream that’s just how things are. When things are specially made they tend to cost more, its silly but what happens. (:

Leave a Reply

